George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award

Every year in early spring the Board of Adventures in Northeast Ohio reaches out to its members for nominations for the Adventures in Northeast Ohio's Excellence Award. In 2021 the Board voted to change the name of the award to the George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award.

 Click here to learn more about George Hoy. 

2023 George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award 

Every year, the George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award is presented to a deserving individual or entity that exemplifies tourism in Northeast Ohio. George Hoy was an Adventures member for over 30 years, he was the proprietor of the Inn at Brandywine Falls, and he was a strong advocate for NE Ohio tourism. George joined the tourism industry when he retired from his “real job” and was devoted until his death in 2018. George was also a significant financial supporter of Adventures in Northeast Ohio, especially when he and Katie would shop the holiday auction! George was a tourism champion & friend to all of us, and it is in his honor we present this award.

Two incredible nominations were made this year and the committee had an incredibly difficult task of selecting one winner. This is a true testament to the commitment and involvement of ordinary people going above and beyond to elevate the tourism industry in Northeast Ohio.

This year’s George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award Committee consisted of Lori Lam, along with three previous George Hoy Excellence Award Winners: Dan Hostetler, Tiffany Gerber, and Colleen Grey.

With that, it is time to announce the 2023 George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award! This year’s winner has been the Executive Director of the Cambridge/Guernsey County Visitors and Convention Bureau for 24 years. Along with Adventures in NE Ohio, she is active in many state and local organizations like the Ohio Travel Association. In fact, she is a past president as well as a Sherlock recipient and one of 3 teachers for the Ohio Tourism Leadership Academy. She is also a member of OAC, on the board of the YMCA Cambridge, The Dickens Victorian Village, the Salt Fork Arts & Crafts Festival and Cambridge Main Street!

She’s always been a great supporter of Adventures and according to Dixie, she’s always willing to guide fellow tourism peers and if she does not know an answer, she will help them find it! She is truly one of a kind and it is our honor to announce Debbie Robinson as our 2023 George Hoy Excellence in Tourism Award winner!

To view presentation CLICK HERE. 


1997 – Joan Smith

1998 – Pam Sabo

1999 – George & Katie Hoy

2000 – Dan Hostetler

2001 – Colleen Sheahen Grey

2002 – Rocco DiLillo

2003 – Mary Randall

2004 – Richard Waytko

2005 – Bob Yun

2006 - Sherry Gesquiere

2007 - No Winner

2008 - Neil Zurcher

2009 - Lynda Nemeth

2010 – Kathleen Toth

2011 – Sylvia Johnson

2012 – Lisa Kusner

2013 – Marty Starkey

2014 – Allyson Bussey

2015 – Mary Lane

2016 – Tiffany Gerber

2017 – Betsy Brock

2018 - Amy Rutledge

2019 - Cathy Durant

2020 - James E. Mahon II

2021 -  Linda S. Macala

2022 - Glenda Lehman Ervin

2023 - Debbie Robinson

Adventures in Northeast Ohio is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.
P.O. Box 67-0824, Northfield, OH  44067 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software